IELTS USA Andrea Scott International Graduate Scholarship

The IELTS USA Andrea Scott International Graduate Scholarship is a US$5000 tuition scholarship that is awarded to an international graduate student enrolling in an accredited US college or university. The scholarship can be renewed for up to three years if you maintain a good academic standing.

IELTS USA founded this scholarship in honour of the late Andrea Scott, a dedicated international education colleague, and Senior Product Champion at IELTS USA. Andrea was an innovative higher education professional and outside of work she was very active in her community.

We look for scholarship recipients who share Andrea’s inspiring commitment to international education, her passion for globalisation, creative arts, and equal rights initiatives.

For questions, you can email


  • Applicants must have a valid IELTS Academic score that was used to meet their University’s (or program’s) English proficiency requirement. IELTS score cannot be more than two years old by time of application deadline.
  • Applicants must be admitted to an accredited U.S. college or university for a Fall 2024 start term.
  • Applicants must be admitted and enroll in a Masters or Doctoral level program.
  • Applicants must qualify as an international student meaning they hold at least one passport from a country other than the U.S. and be able to demonstrate the intentional pursuit of academic English language acquisition during their prior academic career (must be an English language learner).
  • Applicants must be studying one of the following areas:
    • Social justice
    • Criminal justice reform
    • Women’s rights/women’s studies
    • Creative arts
    • Diversity, equity and inclusion
    • Educational access and equity
    • International studies or international policy
    • Higher education leadership.

Selection criteria

The selection committee will evaluate applications based on the following three criteria:

  1. Demonstrated preparation of English proficiency relevant for graduate studies
  2. Demonstrated personal or professional commitment to at least one of the areas interest listed above
  3. Demonstrate a strong academic profile.

  • The Eligibility, Selection criteria and other award details are subject to the terms and conditions set forth in the Andrea Scott Scholarship Award Agreement.

Award timeline

  • 12 February 2024 - Application available
  • 22 April 2024 - Application deadline
  • April-June 2024 - Application review
  • June 2024 - Finalist interviews
  • July 2024 - Award notification

Applications are now open for the 2024 award.

Previous awardees

Read the inspiring stories of the previous Andra Scott Scholarship winners: